Sacrifice, what’s that? – Prompt Post

What am I, as your every day person, supposed to write about Sacrifice ?

Oh, look, my favorite TV show is on. Let me sacrifice a good night’s rest to stay up and watch it.

Hey, I don’t feel like working out because it’s such a pain in the ass to change clothes and go to the gym after work. Let me sacrifice my fitness.

I know I have food in the fridge and freezer, but I don’t feel like cooking. I’ll stop at Taco Bell, Five Guys, or Zaxby’s on the way home, because they are the closest and on my way. Let me sacrifice my health.

I have $8,000 in credit card debt, but I really, really need that nifty thing I found on Amazon. Let me sacrifice my credit score.

I know I should clean my own house, but I don’t feel like it so I’ll pay someone to do it for me. Let me sacrifice my personal responsibility.

Oh wait, I’m not talking about sacrifice am I? I’m talking about will power or my severe lack of. So, like I said. What do I know about sacrifice?

There are men and women present and past who have given their lives to fight for their family, country, and a better world. There are those who have given up their freedom trying to protect and fight for what they hold dear. There is a single mother, at this very minute, skipping meals every day so her baby can eat. There are fathers at this very second, working 3 jobs to support their families. There are families making the choice to donate their children’s organs so that someone else’s child may live.

I know nothing of sacrifice, in my small little bubble of a world.

 

Babble at me!

