Musical Meandering

635970319948640773-346724498_music

…Hey, wait, I got a new complaint. Forever in debt to your priceless advice…

…She don’t go where preachers preach, she only goes to the church where dollars fall…

…Look in my eyes deep and watch the clouds change with time…

…I can’t find my fate, well then I must be blind…

…Knowing this, why do I defy? Because my inner voice is yelling…

…Drunk on ego, Truly thought I could make it right…

…And I’m so terrified of no one else but me. I’m here all the time, I wont go away…

…We rise and fall with our misery. I built the wall, I built the wall…

…Eye for an eye and a tooth for the truth…

…For your love I will climb any mountain. Stand at the top shouting out and you’ll hear my love pouring down like an echo…

…Come doused in mud, soaked in bleach. As I want you to be. As a trend, as a friend. As an old (memoria)…

…You’re just like a car crash and I can’t look away from the headlights…

…Cuz life’s not easy, I’m not made out of steel. Don’t forget that I’m human, don’t forget that I’m real…

… I needed you more, you wanted us less. Could not kiss, just regress…

…Still shackled to the shadow that followed you…

… Cuz I can thrill you more than any ghost would ever dare try…

…There is nothing fair in this world, there is nothing safe in this world, and there’s nothing sure in this world, and there’s nothing pure in this world, look for something left in this world…

…Well I don’t wanna face it, all this time that I wasted, it’s so close I can taste it…

…Behind darkness, beneath candles, whispers waltz around our dreams…

…I am smellin’ like a rose that somebody gave me on my birthday deathbed…

I believe that you can learn something about people from the music they listen to. Most often this isn’t a purposeful revelation, but we’re all drawn to music because it speaks to us. What speaks to us is often reflected outwards towards other people. Music sings our moods, thoughts, desires, losses, hopes, and so much more.

Out of curiosity and boredom I put my playlist on shuffle with the thought in mind to listen to 20 songs. As I listened to these 20 songs, I wrote out the one lyric in each song that stood out the most to me.

Whether I learned something about myself in doing this, or you learned something about me in reading it, will be an interesting thing to hear or see.

Give it a try yourself, and see what is shown to you through the lyrics of your playlist.

 

Credit of lyrics to the following artists:

Nirvana
Bruno Mars
Alice in Chains
Live
Incubus
A Perfect Circle
Matchbox 20
Andy Black
Rob Zombie
Hardwell
Nirvana (again)
Three Days Grace
Justin Bieber
Bush
Stone Temple Pilots
Michael Jackson
Billy Idol
Jack U
The Glitch Mob
Stone Temple Pilots (Again)

14 thoughts on “Musical Meandering

    1. Oooh incubus has such great lyrics, I love them too. They have always had their own sound and have never compromised it for sales. Respect them and love their music and a lot of their messages

      Like

      1. Totally agree and that’s why I’m a longtime fan. So are my daughters. The Badass Bunny (my youngest) saw them at the Santa Barbara Bowl last summer…I couldn’t go because I was sick at home…so she called me from the show so I could hear them.We commemorated that mother-daughter moment with a lovely little lyric tattoo.

        Liked by 1 person

Babble at me!

