Twisting your tongue

I grew up in the middle of nowhere. Most things we needed required a minimum of an hour’s drive to get. More than likely though we had a longer drive than that, as the nearest town was The Armpit of Mendocino County.**

This left for a lot of time to entertain one’s self. Not many radio stations came in and this was before the advent of any sort of portable entertainment device aside from a walkman. So of course, we came up with things to do.

One of my fondest memories is saying tongue Β twisters, and/or adding to them with my dad. I can’t recall what made me think of them, but I figured I’d share a few favorites with you all.

Try to say these – if you dare!

(Note: these are variations on the originals, partially altered by my dad and I, and also I’m sure altered a bit by my child’s memory as I’d learned them)

Betty Botter

Betty Botter bought some bitter butter, but she said: if I put this bitter butter in my batter, it will make my batter bitter! Betty Botter put the bitter butter in her batter and made her batter bitter. Betty Botter bought some better butter and put the better butter in her bitter batter and made her bitter batter better!

Peter Piper Pepper Picker

Peter Piper Pepper Picker picked a peck of pickled peppers. A peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper Pepper Picker did pick. If Peter Piper Pepper Picker picked a peck of pickled peppers, how many peppers were in the peck of pickled peppers that Peter Piper Pepper Picker Picked?

Arkansas

When I went down to Arkansas I saw a saw that could saw faster than any other saw I ever saw Β saw. If you go down to Arkansas and see a saw sawing faster than the saw I saw saw. I want to see the saw you saw saw!

The Skunk

The skunk sat on a stump and thunk the stump stunk, but the stump thunk the skunk stunk.

Say 10x Fast: Soldier’s Shoulders

Say 10x Fast: Rubber Baby Buggy Bumpers

Say 10x Fast: Seven slippery slimy snakes slithering slowly southward

 

Do you have any fun tongue twisters? Share them in the comments!

 

 

** We called Willits, CA. “The Armpit of Mendocino”. It was/is a small town of about 5k people. Unfortunately this town is very trashy and there is a lot of drug use. We called it “The Armpit of Mendocino County”, because across the main street through town is an arch that says “The Heart of Mendocino County”. (Of which it’s certainly not, lol)

 

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Twisting your tongue

  1. Hehe. Those are real awesome. My mother tongue is not English so I had played those games in Assamese. By the way, I remember quite of the Betty Botter. Thanks for sharing.

    Regards,
    Shadey

    Like

  2. I love tongue twisters I always start them so confidently and then break down into a babble of mushy mouthed nonsense πŸ˜† anyway, have you heard: “I’m not the pheasant plucker, I’m the pheasant plucker’s son and I’m only plucking pheasants till the pheasant plucker comes”… Some of the variations I’ve ended up saying are… questionable, but hillarious!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha it’s a good name! Although I have to admit, Marlowe is my adopted stage name… Christopher Marlowe was a brilliant Elizabethan playwright and I just thought Marlowe would be cool and fitting πŸ˜† that last name means something to me and it’s great that you are a Marlow!! Related in spirit perhaps πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You know, I’ve always meant to read his work and never really sat down to do it. In High School when we were studying literature from his period we were given quotes from random pieces to give short “presentations” at the end of class. I still remember mine –

        “Till swollen in cunning of a self-conceit
        His waxen wings did mount above his reach
        And, melting, Heavens conspired his overthrow”

        I don’t recall what piece that was from, but do remember it was Christopher Marlowe.. well, because it’s easy to remember the name πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I first discovered his work during my Literature A Levels, and was really impressed, I would recommend giving his stuff a read – he was very clever and a lot of the ideas in his plays are very very modern… Ahahaha as soon as I started reading that quote I recognised it! It is one of my favourite quotes from ‘Doctor Faustus’, in the Prologue spoken by the Chorus… Just to go Marlowe nerd a bit… Aaand the quote likens him to Icarus, an archetypal overreacher…! Fautus is really interesting and funny though, I was pleasantly surprised and so was the rest of my class! Go Team Marlow/e!

        Liked by 1 person

Babble at me!

